Saturday, February 21, 2015

Spooner Oldham

Very obscure record from Muscle Shoals vet and Dan Penn partner. Some find his singing a little lacking. Me, I think it's part of the charm.



  1. thanks! Had no idea that he had recorded on his own. How great to discover this from you.

  2. Thank you very much! Long time, but unsuccessfully sought this album. Thank you for a rare record.

  3. Dan Penn & Spooner Oldham - Moments From This Theatre (1999)

    Artist: Dan Penn & Spooner Oldham
    Title: Moments From This Theatre
    Label: Proper Records Ltd.
    Catalog#: PRPCD 009
    Format: CD, Album, Live Recording
    Country: Europe
    Released: September 14, 1999
    Genre: Funk / Soul
    Format: MP3 (320 kbps)
    Duration: 00:55:16

    After starting out in Muscle Shoals Alabama and then moving on to Memphis to work with Chips Moman at American Studios, Dan Penn proceeded to co-write and produce several '60s soul hits for artists like Solomon Burke, Aretha Franklin, James Carr, and blue-eyed soul band the Box Tops. Some of the classics Penn and Memphis/Muscle Shoals' studio veteran Spooner Oldham wrote include "Cry Like a Baby," "Sweet Inspiration," "Do Right Woman, Do Right Man," "The Dark End of the Street," and "I'm Your Puppet." These and several other of their tunes are featured on Moments From This Theatre, a collection of live duets taken from 1998 dates in Dublin, London, and South Petherton, Somerset. With Oldham laying down a tasty soul base on the Wurlitzer piano and Penn strumming easeful guitar chords and singing in his sweetly powerful way, the duo glide through 14 gospel-inflected, country-soul gems, eloquently touching on southern living, loneliness, and the joys and trials of love. There's also a good dose of humor here in songs like "Lonely Women Make Good Lovers" and "Memphis Women and Chicken." An intimate and inspiring recording by two of the unsung giants of southern soul. - Stephen Cook


    01. I'm Your Puppet 04:14
    02. Sweet Inspiration 03:46
    03. Cry Like a Baby 02:58
    04. Do Right Woman, Do Right Man 04:47
    05. I Met Her in Church 02:55
    06. Lonely Women Make Good Lovers 03:38
    07. It Tears Me Up 03:58
    08. The Dark End of the Street 03:50
    09. You Left the Water Running 03:23
    10. Out of Left Field 04:27
    11. Memphis Women and Chicken 04:05
    12. A Woman Left Lonely 04:05
    13. I'm Living Good 05:17
    14. Ol' Folks 03:46

    Neil Brockbank, Bobby Irwin - Producer
    Eric Hine - Mastering
    Keith McDonnell - Assistant Engineer
    Rick Hall, Chips Moman, Gary Nicholson - Composer
    Spooner Oldham, Dan Penn - Composer, Vocals
    Jody Roberts - Mixing Assistant
    Chris Musto - Design
    Alan Robinson - Liner Notes


  4. Any chance at all that 'Moments from this Theater' can be re-upped? The current link is expired.

  5. That's not my post ... you'll have to inquire over at